SENTIMENTALE - Parts & Score, SLOW TUNES - Grade 2.5

SENTIMENTALE - Parts & Score, SLOW TUNES - Grade 2.5
SCBF Repertoire piece Availability Available
Published 1st February 2016
Cat No. JM73389
Price £40.00
Composer: Satoshi Yagisawa
Category: SLOW TUNES - Grade 2.5

Grade 2.5
Duration 3.30

Premiered by Funabashi Hiagshi High School under the direction of Shinichiro Tagawa in March, 2015, Sentimentale is an excerpt from Yagisawa’s Trumpet Concerto. That work, commissioned by the Japan Air Self-Defense Force Central Band with trumpet soloist Kenichi Kurishu, premiered in 2003 with many subsequent performances. In 2013, the Concerto had its U.S. debut with Kagoshima Joho HS and Robert Sullivan, principal trumpet of the Cincinnati Symphony. I received many warm regards and compliments on the work, especially for the second movement. However, I also heard regrets that the interlude required a trumpet soloist. I remembered the words of Mr. Tagawa, who had collaborated with me on works such as“And Then the Ocean Glows” and“Hymn to the Infinite Sky”. Ten years earlier he suggested that I arrange that movement for full band so that it could be more widely enjoyed. Though I agreed then, only now have I had the chance to realize this idea, as Mr. Tagawa presented me with the opportunity of this musical creation and world premier.

This new arrangement was entitled “Sentimentale” by Mr. Tagawa. I composed the piece with his constant consultation, discussing grade level and instrumentation, and how the work should be a chorale etude for both concert and daily training. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to both Mr. Tagawa and Funabashi Higashi High School.


Can't find what you're looking for?

If you are unable to find the item you want on our website please call 01355 245674 (international +44 1355 245674) or email

Your cart

Cart is empty View Cart Checkout Wishlist


Register Lost password?